Board of Directors

2016 – 2017  GOVERNING BOARD



Jocelyn Guihama, Deputy Director, The Institute on Inequality and Democracy, UCLA

Vice Chair
Douglas Kleam, COO, Providence Holy Cross Medical Center

Rochelle Nakajima, CPA, Singer Lewak, LLP

Wendy Fassberg, JD, Fassberg Mediation Services

Executive Committee Member at Large
Virginia Tanawong, Sr. Vice President Human Resources, NBC Universal


Frankline Augustin, DPPD, MSHA, CSUN

Susan Blumenfield, DSW, Hospital Administrator (Ret.)

Steve Brown, Owner, Fiesta Plaza Nutritional Products, LLC

Carmen Chivu, CPA, Bessolo & Haworth, LLP

Hany Farid, MD, Regional Medical Director, Healthcare Partners

Scott Frost, CEO, CSS Consulting Group

Gillian Grant, President, Gillian Valentine

Pamela Haworth, Clinical Research Director, Program Manager

Richard Jones, Sr. VP., Wealth Management, Merrill Lynch

Reverend Dr. Daniel Justin, Rector, St. Michael and All Angels Episcopal Church

Julie Kelley, Esq., VP, Business & Legal Affairs, Warner Brothers, Home Entertainment

Rabbi Barry Lutz, Sr. Rabbi, Temple Ahavat Shalom

Phillip Maltin, Esq., Partner, Gordon & Rees, LLP

Elissa Margolis, Sr. VP/General Manager for Disney Store, North America

Manoj K. Mathew, MD, CEO, Ace Medical Associates

Craig McGuire, Sr. VP., LA Coastal Market, Bank of America

Terri Mestas, CCM, PMP, Sr. V.P., Aecom

Roderick Mosley, Staff VP., Anthem Blue Cross

Paul Nelson, Financial Advisor, Viewpoint

Jennifer Hankes Painter, Esq., VP/General Counsel, On Assignment

Fred J. Ruopp, Jr., Executive VP., Chelsea Management

Murtaza Sanwari, COO, Kaiser Permanente, Panorama City

Kelly Shea-Bradley, Director of Marketing, HealthNet

Beatriz Stotzer, CEO, New Capital, LLC

Pamela Stowers, Manager, KPMG, LLP

Ron Villafana, Executive, State Comp. Insurance Fund (Ret.)


Susan Ng, Interim President and CEO, MEND

Jenny Gutierrez, Chief Operating Officer, MEND

Scott Mikels, Chief Financial Officer, MEND

Maggie Torres, Program Director, MEND


2015 – 2016 PROGRAM BOARD


Frankie Augustin, DPPD, MSHA, Assistant Professor, Health Administration, CSUN
Vice Chair

Janice Boafo, SAPC Prevention Program Director and Body & Soul Program Coordinator at Tarzana Treatment Centers, Inc.


Douglas Barrera, PhD, Assistant Director, UCLA Center for Community Learning

Cynthia Camarillo-Rivera, MSW, Friends of the Valley

Gabriela Chavira, PhD, Prof., Psychology Dept, CSUN

Stephan Chung, PhD, Professor, Health Sciences, CSUN

Jessica Edmond, English Language Specialist

Maria Elizondo, Activities Coordinator, Community and Volunteer-Involvement

Heng Lam Foong, MS, Occidental College, Urban & Environmental Policy Institute Community Health Engagement & Adjunct Faculty

Susan Fredericks, DDS, Southern CA Smiles

Gigi Gomez, Community Volunteer

Lourdes Guerrero, EdD, MSW, Assist. Prof. of Medicine, UCLA

Joy Guihama, MPH, Community Advisory Council, CSUN

Joo Kim, MSOM, MSHA LAc., Prof., Health Science Dept., CSUN

Seira Kurian, MD, MPH, Deputy Medical Director

Nicole T. Linton, Service Learning Coordinator, Office of Community Engagement, CSUN

Andrew Marino, Airport Manager, Whiteman Airport

Doug Marriott, EdD, Cooperative Education Job Resource Ctr

Ed Rose, MEND Co-Founder, Finance Mgr., Lockheed (Ret.)

Marlene L. Schoen, PhD, Clinical Psychologist

Audrey Simons, RDH, MSHA, CEO, San Fernando Community Health Center

Sharon Ulmer, RN, HRN Services Inc.

Xochitl M. Valdivia, MS, Family and Consumer Sciences, CSUN

Kevin Walsh, PsyD, Organizational Consultant, Trainer, Professor, Phillips Graduate School

Joy C. Williams, JD, MPA, E-Discovery Consultant, USC

Jenny Yi, PhD, Associate Professor of Public Health Promotion Dept., CSUN


Susan Ng, Interim President and CEO, MEND

Jenny Gutierrez, Chief Operating Officer, MEND

Maggie Torres, Program Director, MEND

Maria Jimenez, Associate Program Director, MEND

Aracely Hernandez, Associate Program Director II, MEND